Department of Anesthesia






This department is established as the conception of DHQ in 1984. At present the department of Anaesthesia is fully equipped in human resources & electro medical equipments to meet the requirements of tertiary care hospital. Department is recognised with PM&DC Islamabad & fully accredited with CPSP for training of minor & major diplomas postgraduate trainees.

            At present 16 operation theatres are functional in morning & 5 emergency operation theatres round the clock, catering Gynae, Trauma & other emergencies from Sindh, Balochistan & Punjab as this institution is situated at the Hub of these three provinces.

            Neurosurgical ICU, Emergency ICU & Cardiac Surgery ICU are blessing for the patients of this area. We are also catering cardiac surgery which is the great achievement as only couple of public sector hospital conduct Cardiac Surgery in whole Punjab.

            Dr. Muhammad Ali Bukhari was first to join as HOD and then Dr. Shakeel Azmat joined him both played their part in establishing the department. In 1992 Dr. Muhammad Anwer Rehan joined as HOD & served this department in an exemplary way. His efforts were responsible for department stability and progress. He developed & maintained the equipment in a way which is rare to see in any public sector hospital in Pakistan. B. Sc Operation Theatre Technology started in his tenure.

            On 19th January, 2009 Dr. Haq Dad Durrani joined as First Assistant Professor in department. A thorough gentleman worked hard on peripheral anaesthesia teaching MCPS & FCPS postgraduates.

            Professor Dr. Khalid Javed Butt joined as Professor of Anaesthesia in October, 2010 and served till February, 2013. He is having a grand reputation as an outclass teacher for postgraduates trainees and he proved that at Sheikh Zayed Medical College too. In his presence a number of PGRs passed MCPS & FCPS exams which are his great contribution. The good work continued under his patronage along with team.

            Dr. Haq Dad Durrani continued the progress after him till 22th January, 2015 when he joined Ghazi Medical College, D.G. Khan as Associate Professor and Head of Department.

            Once again Dr. Muhammad Anwer Rehan took over as Chief Consultant Anaesthetist & HOD. His efforts to improve & serve patient’s continued till the last day when he retired in May, 2015, after serving the institution for three(3) decades with zeal & zest and honesty. 

In May, 2015 Dr. Abdul Majid Khan took over as HOD and continuing the good tradition of his predecessor.

            At present along with Dr. Abdul Majid Khan HOD, a very good team is working to meet the extreme continuous patient’s service demands.

  • Dr. Sairah Sadaf                     Assistant Professor
  • Dr. Zeeshan Khan                  Assistant Professor
  • Dr. Amjad Siddique              Consultant Anaesthetist
  • Dr. Hanif                                   Consultant Anaesthetist
  • Dr. Hameedullah                   Consultant Anaesthetist

There are about 58 MOs, PGRs & House Officers are working for patient care in the department.


Faulty of the Department

Sr. # Name of Doctors Designation


Dr.  Abdul Majid Khan CONSULTANT ANESTHETIST & Head of Department


Dr.  Sairah Sadaf Assistant Professor   


Dr.  Zeeshan Khan Assistant Professor


Dr.  Amjad Siddique Consultant Anaesthetist


Dr.  Hameedullah Consultant Anaesthetist


Dr.  Muhammad Hanif Consultant Anaesthetist


Facilities & Achievements:

At present 16 elective operation theatres and 05 Emergency operation theatres are functioning round the clock, round the year. Monitors and defibrillators are available in every operation theatre. During 2013-2014; two new developments have taken place. Department of Cardio-thoracic surgery with 02 operation rooms and 05 bedded Cardiac ICU has started working. CABG with beating heart is a great achievement. While a new 08 bedded ICU is started in Emergency Department under Anaesthesia Department, In addition to already 08 bedded Previous ICU which is dedicated to Neurosurgery as NICU.

            Continuous Liquid Oxygen supply in the form of VIE (Vacuum Insulated Evaporated) is a dream come true and the credit goes to the hard work and full dedication of Dr. Mohammad Anwer Rehan and Dr. Abdul Majid Khan under worthy command of Principal of this Institute. Central Medical Gas System are installed all over the hospital i.e. Phase-I, Phase-II, Cardiac Surgery, CCU-I & II, Old Emergency & New Emergency. Recently with the extraordinary support of Prof. Dr. Ghulam Mustafa Arain, Principal Sheikh Zayed Medical College/Hospital another VIE is installed at Emergency. A great blessing of Allah.

            Multi Disciplinary Pain Management services are also initiated under Dr. Haq Dad Durrani since 2013 in OT Phase-ll. Now it is continued by Dr. Abdul Majid Khan.

Training Programme

Anaesthesia Department is fully accredited for FCPS and MCPS under the supervision of Dr. Haq Dad Durrani w.e.f. 31-12-2009. Now Dr. Sairah Sadaf & Dr. Zeeshan Khan also supervising PGR’s.  Up to now 02 resident passed FCPS and 06 residents passed MCPS examination, some of them are now working abroad. 04 Medical Officers has been recently selected as Consultant Anaesthetist by Punjab Public Service Commission on the basis of post graduation. Faculty consists of 2 Assistant Professors, 04 Consultants Anaesthetist, 12 Senior Medical Officer, 33 Medical Officers amongst whom 05 are are MCPS trainees.  Academic activities include an interactive session weekly with all post-graduate trainees, case presentations and monthly mortality meetings. Undergraduates of MBBS and BSc. (Hons.) Operation Theatre Technology (OTT) has also been facilitated on regular schedules.

            Trainees are encouraged to participate in Research oriented studies. At the moment many research projects are under process.

 Research Projects:

   Four Articles relating to Anaesthesia are published in national & International journals.

While following articles are under process:

  1. Comparison of predictive values of different airway assessment methods in a tertiary care hospital.
  2. Incidence of backache after Spinal Anaesthesia in non-obstetric patients in tertiary care hospitals.
  3. Comparison between co-loading & pre-loading for prevention of hypotension after spinal anaesthesia in adult males.
  4. Incidence of backache after spinal anaesthesia in obstetric patients undergoing c-section in tertiary care hospitals.
  5. Comparison between effects of low dose ketamine & low dose profol on shivering in adult patients after spinal anaesthesia in tertiary care hospital.
  6. A comparison of post-operative emergence agitation between sevoflurane & propofol anaesthesia inductions in pediatric patients.
  7. Comparison between the effects of preloading with colloids and crystalloids on mean arterial pressure for the patients undergoing Trans urethral resection of prostate (TURP) under spinal anaesthesia in tertiary care hospital.

Future Plans

  • Accreditation for M.S. Anaesthesiology and Diploma in Anaesthesiology by UHS (University of Health Sciences).
  • Establishment of a proper Pain Management Centre with indoor facilities.